Prospective Mentors

The following is a list of professors at UCSB who have expressed interest in serving as a faculty mentor for a McNair Scholar. If you are applying to our program or if you are a newly admitted McNair Scholar, we encourage you to reach out to them directly to see if they are accepting students at this time. 

First Name

Last Name

Department

Email

Sarah

McClure

Anthropology

mcclure@anth.ucsb.edu

Elana

Resnick

Anthropology

eresnick@anth.ucsb.edu

Amber

Van Derwarker

Anthropology

vanderwarker@anth.ucsb.edu

John

Park

Asian American Studies

jswpark@asamst.ucsb.edu

Mattanjah

De Vries

Chemistry & Biochemistry

devries@chem.ucsb.edu

Trevor

Hayton

Chemistry & Biochemistry

hayton@chem.ucsb.edu

Gabriel

Menard

Chemistry & Biochemistry

menard@chem.ucsb.edu

Thuc-Quyen

Nguyen

Chemistry & Biochemistry

quyen@chem.ucsb.edu

Hai

Yang

Chemistry & Biochemistry

hai@chem.ucsb.edu

Yang

Yang

Chemistry & Biochemistry

yang@chem.ucsb.edu

Jennifer

Kam

Communication

jkam@comm.ucsb.edu

Erin

Dowdy

Counseling, Clinical, & School Psychology

edowdy@ucsb.edu

Maryam

Keating

Counseling, Clinical, & School Psychology

maryamkk@ucsb.edu

Melissa

Morgan

Counseling, Clinical, & School Psychology

mmorga4@gmail.com

Jill

Sharkey

Counseling, Clinical, & School Psychology

jsharkey@education.ucsb.edu

Steven

Smith

Counseling, Clinical, & School Psychology

ssmith@education.ucsb.edu

Alex

Simms

Earth Sciences

asimms@geol.ucsb.edu

Armand

Kuris

Ecology, Evolution, and Marine Biology

kuris@lifesci.ucsb.edu

Leander

Love-Anderegg

EEMB

landeregg@ucsb.edu

Peter

Kuhn

Economics

pjkuhn@econ.ucsb.edu

Heather

Royer

Economics

royer@econ.ucsb.edu

Diana

Arya

Education

darya@education.ucsb.edu

Sarah

Roberts

Education

sroberts@education.ucsb.edu

Heather

Blurton

English

heatherblurton@english.ucsb.edu

Felice

Blake

English

fblake@english.ucsb.edu

Ben

Olguin

English

ben.olguin@english.ucsb.edu

Laury

Oaks

Feminist Studies

oaks@femst.ucsb.edu

Kathy

Baylis

Geography

baylis@ucsb.edu

Leila

Carvalho

Geography

leila@eri.ucsb.edu

Vena

Chu

Geography

venachu@ucsb.edu

Somayeh

Dodge

Geography

maya@geog.ucsb.edu

Nick

Nidzieko

Geography

nidzieko@ucsb.edu

Anna

Trugman

Geography

att@ucsb.edu

Aashish

Mehta

Global Studies

mehta@global.ucsb.edu

Kai

Thaler

Global Studies

thaler@global.ucsb.edu

Veronica

Castillo-Munoz

History

castillomunoz@history.ucsb.edu

Evelyne

Laurent-Perrault

History

elaurentperrault@history.ucsb.edu

Guiliana

Perrone

History

gperrone@ucsb.edu

Erika

Rappaport

History

rappaport@history.ucsb.edu

Paul

Spickard

History

ethelred@ucsb.edu

Xiaowei

Zheng

History

zheng@history.ucsb.edu

Cherie

Briggs

Life Sciences

briggs@lifesci.ucsb.edu

Hector

Ceniceros

Mathematics

ceniceros@ucsb.edu

Katy

Craig

Mathematics

kcraig@ucsb.edu

Anabel

Ford

MesoAmerican Research Center

ford@ucsb.edu

Leslie

Hogan

Music

leslie.hogan@ccs.ucsb.edu

David

Novak

Music

dnovak9@uscb.edu

Joseph

Incandela

Physics

Joseph.Incandela@cern.ch

Nancy

Collins

Psychological and Brain Sciences

nancy.collins@psych.ucsb.edu

Barry

Giesbrecht

Psychological and Brain Sciences

giesbrecht@ucsb.edu

Mary

Hegarty

Psychological and Brain Sciences

hegarty@ucsb.edu

Tod

Kippin

Psychological and Brain Sciences

kippin@ucsb.edu

Karen

Szumlinsk

Psychological and Brain Sciences

szumlinski@ucsb.edu

Hongbo

Yu

Psychological and Brain Sciences

hongbo.yu@psych.ucsb.edu

Joseph

Blankholm

Religious Studies

blankholm@ucsb.edu

Erika

Arenas

Sociology

earenas@soc.ucsb.edu

John

Foran

Sociology

foran@ucsb.edu

Dana

Kornberg

Sociology

kornberg@ucsb.edu

William

Robinson

Sociology

w.i.robinson1@gmail.com

Terrel

Winder

Sociology

twinder@soc.ucsb.edu